College ROI

Smarter Choices, Brighter Futures

Selectivity and Earnings.

Do more selective schools produce higher earners? Two lenses on prestige: average SAT score and acceptance rate.

View
Predominant credential
Trend line

Admissions data are institution-wide: SAT scores and acceptance rates describe the school's first-time undergraduate admissions, not a specific program. SAT figures come from enrollees who submitted scores, which at test-optional schools may skew high.

Completers Only: Federal median earnings data strictly reflects outcomes for students who successfully graduated. Students who do not complete their degree typically earn significantly less and face higher risks of debt default.

SAT Average vs. Median Earnings

Each dot is one institution whose predominant award is the bachelor's. Earnings are the institution-wide median for all completers 5 years after completing, across every field and credential level.

Overall Median ($61,632)
P25-P75 Interval ($53,320 - $71,785)
HS Baseline ($35,872)
Column median
Trend: +$6,514 per 100 SAT points (R² 0.39, n=992)

Acceptance Rate vs. Median Earnings

Each dot is one institution whose predominant award is the bachelor's. Earnings are the institution-wide median for all completers 5 years after completing, across every field and credential level.

Overall Median ($61,632)
P25-P75 Interval ($53,320 - $71,785)
HS Baseline ($35,872)
Column median
Trend: +$2,182 per 10 pts lower acceptance (R² 0.09, n=1,483)

Schools 1,749

Institution
State
School Earnings
SAT Avg
SAT 25th–75th
Acceptance
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge
MA
$159,005
4yr Post-Grad
15601520–15805%
Samuel Merritt University
Oakland
CA
$147,769
4yr Post-Grad
——Not reported
Harvey Mudd College
Claremont
CA
$146,840
4yr Post-Grad
15451500–157013%
Franklin W Olin College of Engineering
Needham
MA
$135,461
4yr Post-Grad
15201493–155825%
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh
PA
$132,363
4yr Post-Grad
15461500–157012%
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena
CA
$131,965
4yr Post-Grad
——3%
Babson College
Wellesley
MA
$121,874
4yr Post-Grad
14571390–153017%
Mount Sinai Phillips School of Nursing
New York
NY
$120,650
4yr Post-Grad
——Not reported
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia
PA
$120,094
4yr Post-Grad
15531510–15705%
Yale University
New Haven
CT
$119,177
4yr Post-Grad
15341470–15704%
University of Health Sciences and Pharmacy in St. Louis
Saint Louis
MO
$118,682
4yr Post-Grad
11311055–124090%
American University of Health Sciences
Signal Hill
CA
$117,839
4yr Post-Grad
——50%
Stanford University
Stanford
CA
$114,967
4yr Post-Grad
15531510–15804%
Stevens Institute of Technology
Hoboken
NJ
$114,905
4yr Post-Grad
14461380–150548%
Georgia Institute of Technology-Main Campus
Atlanta
GA
$114,153
4yr Post-Grad
14801370–154014%
Bentley University
Waltham
MA
$113,660
4yr Post-Grad
13521280–143045%
Santa Clara University
Santa Clara
CA
$112,601
4yr Post-Grad
14261350–149048%
West Coast University-Anaheim-Orange County
Anaheim
CA
$112,241
4yr Post-Grad
——Open admission
West Coast University-Los Angeles
North Hollywood
CA
$112,241
4yr Post-Grad
——Not reported
West Coast University-Miami
Doral
FL
$112,241
4yr Post-Grad
——Open admission
West Coast University-Ontario
Ontario
CA
$112,241
4yr Post-Grad
——Open admission
West Coast University-Texas
Richardson
TX
$112,241
4yr Post-Grad
——Open admission
Lehigh University
Bethlehem
PA
$112,054
4yr Post-Grad
14401370–150026%
Princeton University
Princeton
NJ
$111,260
4yr Post-Grad
15531510–15805%
Cal Poly Maritime Academy
Vallejo
CA
$110,985
4yr Post-Grad
——95%
SUNY Maritime College
Throggs Neck
NY
$110,761
4yr Post-Grad
12141123–128872%
Massachusetts Maritime Academy
Buzzards Bay
MA
$110,669
4yr Post-Grad
——95%
Cornell University
Ithaca
NY
$109,965
4yr Post-Grad
15351500–15709%
Maine Maritime Academy
Castine
ME
$109,528
4yr Post-Grad
11661095–126054%
Duke University
Durham
NC
$108,545
4yr Post-Grad
15481500–15706%
Gnomon
North Hollywood
CA
$108,321
4yr Post-Grad
——42%
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University
Brooklyn
NY
$107,990
4yr Post-Grad
——Not reported
Harvard University
Cambridge
MA
$107,987
4yr Post-Grad
15531510–15804%
Claremont McKenna College
Claremont
CA
$107,640
4yr Post-Grad
15271470–156010%
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland
OR
$107,637
4yr Post-Grad
——Not reported
Dartmouth College
Hanover
NH
$107,556
4yr Post-Grad
15341500–15705%
University of Notre Dame
Notre Dame
IN
$106,934
4yr Post-Grad
15201455–156011%
Villanova University
Villanova
PA
$106,341
4yr Post-Grad
14601395–151027%
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Worcester
MA
$106,002
4yr Post-Grad
——60%
United States Merchant Marine Academy
Kings Point
NY
$105,826
4yr Post-Grad
12071110–130034%
Boston College
Chestnut Hill
MA
$105,665
4yr Post-Grad
15071440–154016%
Jewish Theological Seminary of America
New York
NY
$104,501
4yr Post-Grad
15001440–158049%
Colorado School of Mines
Golden
CO
$103,967
4yr Post-Grad
14121320–148061%
Georgetown University
Washington
DC
$103,609
4yr Post-Grad
14871390–155013%
Roseman University of Health Sciences
Henderson
NV
$103,339
4yr Post-Grad
——Not reported
Northeastern University
Boston
MA
$102,947
4yr Post-Grad
14971440–15405%
Northeastern University Oakland
Oakland
CA
$102,947
4yr Post-Grad
14721420–152017%
Northeastern University Professional Programs
Boston
MA
$102,947
4yr Post-Grad
——Not reported
Bucknell University
Lewisburg
PA
$102,624
4yr Post-Grad
14101310–147029%
Columbia University in the City of New York
New York
NY
$102,614
4yr Post-Grad
15531510–15804%

Earnings are green at or above this view's median ($61,632), red below. SAT 25th–75th adds the reading and math percentiles, so it approximates the composite range. Blank values sort last in either direction.